Pregnancy – Month 7

Weeks 27 – 30

In two months, we get to meet our precious girl! It’s really starting to hit me how close it is to my due date and when I’ll finally be able to meet her. We spent the last few weekends being very productive around the house, finishing up some spring cleaning, buying and building a dresser for Baby, and painting a wall. This past Easter Weekend we actually felt lost because we had nothing left to do, so I think we feel pretty ready right now.

I have to say this pregnancy has been such a dream, I feel really lucky. But because things have been so great, I keep thinking SOMETHING must go wrong. In week 27, I had my gestational diabetes test and was sure it was going to come back positive. Although I have to admit, I was a bit of a bad mama and ate a banana before going in to do my blood work, despite my doc telling me to fast. So of course my sugars came back a little high. But the second test came back normal and so yay! N0 GD pour moi.

The trips to the bathroom have increased dramatically. In my second trimester, I actually thought there was something wrong with me because I still didn’t have to go very often. However, now it’s in full swing, sometimes getting up four times during the night. I feel like I’m in the bathroom every 5 minutes during the day too. Having to drink more water doesn’t help either. C’est la vie!

In Week 28, at our last doctor’s appointment, we learned that Baby B was still in breech position but that it was very normal at this stage. Her head is on my upper left side with her legs at my lower right side. I don’t think she’s turned or flipped once since she was in the same position at our last ultrasound at week 18! She must be pretty comfortable in there.

Week 29 introduced baby hiccups! I think I’ve actually been feeling them for a while but haven’t paid too much attention. However it’s very obvious now that baby girl is practicing how to breathe. Mama’s happy!

And in Week 30, I’m feeling a lot of squirming and not as many kicks which is very normal as baby girl is starting to run out of room. However, that’s not to say she doesn’t kick at all anymore because when she does, it’s usually a big one! But it’s so amazing to watch my belly move, it’s almost like waves under my skin. I can feel her head and bum push up against me and it’s a strange feeling! Like my skin is stretching and there’s a lot of pressure where she pushes. But it’s really cool to be able to feel the roundness of her head or bum while she’s still in there. It only makes me more excited to hold her when she’s born!

This past Easter Weekend was probably the most uncomfortable I’ve been this whole pregnancy. I had a day and half of back and belly pain, heartburn, you name it. It was the first time I felt I had to take a Tylenol to feel more comfortable. I napped for two hours during the day and then had to have a bath at the end of the day which really helped. My doula says it was most likely a growth spurt happening. But I also think she might’ve been turning because her movements seem to be at the top of my belly now.

30weeks

3rd Trimester: 30 weeks, 6 days

Baby is the size of a: Canteloupe

Symptoms: Belly is feeling very heavy now. I occasionally have some back pain and it’s getting a lot harder to put my shoes on!

How I’m feeling: I’m not exhausted, but it does take a lot out of me to move around for a long period of time. My feet are starting to get sore a lot faster as well.

Movement: LOTS. I love watching my belly move when she squirms.

Sleep: Still sleeping well, except I usually have to get up two or three times a night to go to the bathroom. But I don’t usually have trouble falling back to sleep.

Cravings: The usual! Although canned peaches are a thing now.

Food aversions: Still not wanting vegetables, but Hubby is doing a good job and getting me to eat them.

Wearing: My uniform at work is still comfortable although by the end of the day, I have to pull the elastic down to my waist.

Favourite moment: We finally bought our stroller and car seat and I absolutely love them! I waited until Hubby got home from work before putting the stroller together because I knew he’d have a blast figuring it out.

Most excited about: My Halifax baby shower coming up this weekend and my Blessingway in May =)

For more pregnancy posts, click here.

Leave a Reply

