Pregnancy – Month 1

Occurred between September and October 2016

Weeks 1 – 4

It’s been a while since I have been able to sit down and write something. So I’m very happy that my first update is about my pregnancy! Since our announcement, many have asked me if I’d be starting a pregnancy journal and although the thought is nice, I don’t actually own a notebook.

However I’ve recently been inspired to start writing about it and honestly I think this would be a great collection of memories to look back on one day. The thing is… I’m already half way through my pregnancy. I know, great timing AS USUAL.

So I have a lot of catching up to do! We announced our pregnancy this past Christmas holiday, but because we wanted to tell our families in person, we had to wait until week 15 to travel home. So you can expect updates on the last five months over the next little while, starting with Month 1 in review!


Weeks 1 – 4

It worked! I’m pregnant! I still can’t believe it, it doesn’t feel real. I know I’m exactly 12 days pregnant because I have been tracking my cycles for months.

It was killing me, waiting to the take the test. One evening though, I thought it was enough and said screw it. I decided to take it the next morning. I was so excited; I got up early and took the test before getting in the shower. I could not sit there and wait three long minutes so I had to do something. I almost forgot about it while I was drying off. But I snuck a glance expecting the worst and to my disbelief, it read Pregnant: 1 – 2 weeks.

I don’t think I even finished drying off; I just grabbed my towel and sprinted into the bedroom where my Hubby was sleeping off a late night at work. It was 6am at this point. He half woke up and asked what was wrong and I replied, “Nothing – but guess what?” and he said, “You’re pregnant.” It was certainly not one of those movie moments where the parents-to-be embrace in a teary-eyed celebration. No, no. It was mostly me jumping up and down and then Hubby trying to wake up enough to register what was happening… so us.

We found out at 6am on October 12th, 2016.

The weeks after were filled with emotional conversations as the realization that we were about to be parents hit us day after day. Of course, we couldn’t wait to tell someone so we told our best friends immediately, but knew it would be best to wait until the 12-week mark to share with our families (even though they suspected HARD).

1st Trimester: 4 weeks, 1 day

Baby is the size of a: Poppyseed

Symptoms: A bit of cramping which I learned is called implantation cramping.

How I’m feeling: Like I’m not pregnant.

Movement: No, however at this point baby is called a blastocyst!

Sleep: Normal

Cravings: Nothing out of the ordinary.

Food aversions: I still love everything, but it will be interesting to see if I have any!

Wearing: Still in my pre-pregnancy clothes.

Favourite moment: Obviously – seeing that positive pregnancy test!

Most excited about: Figuring out how we’re going to tell our parents!

For more pregnancy posts, click here.

3 thoughts on “Pregnancy – Month 1

  1. Its never too late to start! I started blogging when my daughter was about 6 months old, i really wish i blogged about the pregnancy and early after the birth. I know i will be prepared for the next baby tho. Great post by the way. Looking foward to updates 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! And that’s what I was thinking, it’s never too late to start. Although now I really do wish I started a journal from the beginning. At least I wouldn’t have to write from memory. But you bet I’ll be doing that for the next one 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

