Peanut Butter Banana “Pupcakes” with PB Frosting!

As I mentioned in my previous post, I recently made homemade “pupcakes” for my little nugget’s 2nd birthday. Normally, I would have gone out and bought some from a dog bakery but apparently that’s unheard of around here, so I decided to try my hand at making my own!

They were a hit! I even had left overs and brought some to work. They were gone within the day! Just make it clear to your co-workers that these are specifically for dogs and then you can avoid the situation that I was in (despite the big neon sticky note that said “FOR DOGS” in big bold letters) when one of my co-workers ate one. I mean… you can certainly eat them. My Better Half couldn’t resist trying one but thought it better to leave it for the fur baby. But hey, be my guest!

Also, excuse my not-so-great piping skills.. I never said I was professional baker!


img_1658

Peanut Butter Banana Pupcakes & PB Frosting

  • Servings: 12
  • Time: 30 mins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients: 

  • 1 egg
  • 1 banana, mashed
  • 1/3 cup natural peanut butter
  • ¼ cup canola oil
  • ¼ cup honey
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/3 cup quick oats
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract

The frosting:

  • 6 tbsp plain greek yogurt
  • 3 tbsp natural peanut butter

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line cupcake tins with paper liners. Combine the flour, baking soda, and oats in a medium bowl and set aside. In a large bowl, combine egg, banana (I find it helps to mash the banana in the egg before adding the rest of the wet ingredients), natural peanut butter, oil, honey, and vanilla. Add dry ingredients to wet a little at a time and mix using a spatula (and a little elbow grease). Consistency will be thick and sticky. Fill cupcake liners 2/3 or ¾ full. Bake at 350 degrees F for 15-17 minutes.

Frosting:

Once pupcakes have cooled, using an electric mixer, combine natural peanut butter and plain greek yogurt. Place in fridge until you’re ready to frost. If you don’t have a piping bag (like me!) create one with a Ziploc bag. Scoop frosting into the bag and twist until frosting is collected at one corner. Cut a small hole in the corner and begin piping!

4 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Banana “Pupcakes” with PB Frosting!

  1. Are you sure humans can’t “chow down” on these delectable looking cupcakes? I often share my meal with my schnauzer, and often kid her about not being able to share her goodies with me. Now we can, especially if I get making these yummy morsels.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

